Balázs Fülei solo piano recital

Date: 15 September
Time: 18:00
Venue:  Liszt Institute London
17-19 Cockspur St, London SW1Y 5BL

Spend a great evening listening to the outstanding Hungarian pianist Balázs Fülei as he plays Hungarian classics, including Liszt and Bartók at the Institute’s theatre space.

Balázs Fülei is a Franz Liszt, Artisjus and Junior Prima award winner pianist with more than thirty piano concertos in his repertoire, with all the concertos by Beethoven, Brahms and Bartók among them. The sophisticated compilations of his solo recitals, usually accompanied by the artist’s personal introduction, always put classical music in an exciting new perspective. He is an assistant professor at the Liszt Academy and has been the Head of the Department of Chamber Music since 2015. He has held masterclasses all over the world and he is the founder and artistic director of the Echo Summer Academy held every year in the Károlyi Castle in Fehérvárcsurgó.


Balázs Fülei has entered the international music scene at an early age. He had his debut solo recital in 2008 at the Carnegie Hall in New York considered the most prestigious concert hall in the world; he has given concerts in the Konzerthaus Vienna, the Tchaikovsky Conservatory Moscow, the Kioi Hall Tokio and the Concertgebouw Amsterdam as well. He has played together with leading symphony orchestras in Hungary and abroad. Balázs Fülei has already performed in almost every country in Europe, Israel, the United States of America, Australia, Japan, China and Vietnam. He has regularly been giving concerts with his permanent formation, the Auer Trio; he has been a frequent partner of the Kodály Quartet and have toured with them in India. He was the soloist of one of the world’s leading ensembles, the Camerata Bern, in the Grand Hall of the Liszt Academy.

Balázs Fülei was awarded the respectable ‘Steinway Artist’ title on August 28, 2020. He has joined the company of Steinway Artists like Martha Argerich, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Daniel Barenboim, Evgeny Kissin, Krystian Zimerman, Mitsuko Uchida or Grigory Sokolov.

The event is free but registration via Eventbrite is required. Doors open at 6.30 pm, concert starts at 7 pm.

After careful consideration, we decided that the event will go ahead, however, in light of the Queen's passing there will be some changes to the concert.
The new programme, reflecting the sombre occasion, will be the following:
Liszt: Variations on a Theme by J. S. Bach "Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen"
(Weeping, lamenting, worrying, fearing)
Liszt: Consolations - Six poetic thoughts
Liszt: Benediction of God in Solitude