György Cziffra Memorial Year

The 100th birth anniversary of Hungarian piano virtuoso György Cziffra will be marked in 15 countries worldwide in 2021. The György Cziffra Memorial Year includes nearly 100 cultural events and concerts with the participation of world-famous artists in Hungary and abroad. The opening concert featuring Gergely Bogányi, Károly Dráfi, Károly Mocsári, and János Balázs will be live-streamed from the Liszt Academy of Music in Budapest on 9th February 2021.


Chopin: Impromptu in A-flat major, Op. 29

Chopin: Impromptu in F-sharp major, Op. 36

Chopin: Waltz in A minor, Op. 34/2

Liszt: Années de pèlerinage, 1ere année, Suisse – 6. Vallée d'Obermann (Obermann's Valley)

Beethoven–Liszt: Symphony No. 4 in B-flat major – 3. Menuetto. Allegro vivace

Chopin: Twenty-Four Preludes, Op. 28 – 1. Prelude in C major, 17. Prelude in A-flat major

Liszt: Liebesträume

Debussy: Suite bergamasque – 3. Clair de lune

Rahmanyinov: Thirteen Preludes, Op. 32 – 12. Prelude in G-sharp minor

Ponce – János Balázs: Estrellita

Puccini – János Balázs: Lauretta’a aria from the opera Gianni Schicchi

Brahms – Cziffra – Balázs János: Hungarian Dance No. 5

ifj. J. Strauss – Cziffra – Balázs János: Reminiscences


Gergely Bogányi, Kálmán Dráfi, Károly Mocsári, János Balázs (piano)

Host: Ádám Bősze

The concert will be available at the link below at 18.30 (UTC), 9 February 2021.